Uncategorized

Keeping Your Loc’s Moisturized During the Winter

The Winter is the harshiest season for naturals. Some people think having Dreadlocks means low maintenance, but it’s totally not the case. Dreads have to be moisturized and taken care of just like natural loose hair.  Here are a few tips I researched to help you out when during this cold season.

1.  Create a hair spritz. 

Get a spray bottle (that does a “mist” instead of a “squirt” so it won’t soak your dreads up).  Fill it halfway with water.  Now add about 1/2 cup of your favorite carrier oil (avocado, olive, jojoba, coconut).  You can also add a few drops of scented oil to your spray to give your dreads a nice yummy smell.  Close the bottle, shake it up and spray.

2.  Satin scarf. 

Wear it when you go to bed.  Satin scarves don’t suck up all of the moisture in your hair.  It actually helps retain it.  It also prevents lint from being in your hair.

3.  Wash loc’s less often during the winter. 

Loc’s take quite a while to dry. Even in the summer washing and drying loc’s can be a time consuming process. In the winter loc’s can take what seems forever to dry. Therefore, just for practical purposes alone, it is wise to wash loc’s less often in the winter.  Because loc’s can be much drier in the colder months, it’s best to shampoo less in order to keep in moisture.
Any other tips you want to share?

3 thoughts on “Keeping Your Loc’s Moisturized During the Winter

  1. Hi am trying to wear my natural afro locked and it’s taking so long it’s been approximately six weeks now. I can feel a couple of my hair are fully locked. Do you have any advise as to how long it take to get my hair locked?

  2. Hi Grace:

    Sorry for the huge delay. My sincere apologies. As you may have already figured out the length of time for a person’s hair to lock varies. I am approaching year 2 and a majority of my hair has not fully locked. I’ve always envisioned my locs to look a certain way and they look nothing like I imagined. Lol. All of our hair are different. I know ppl who said their hair fully locked within their first year others say it took them 3 years. So it all varies. Now I haven’t heard of hair fully locking within a couple of weeks but anything possible as our hair textures and locking methods varies. But like I always say be patient and bask in every stage of your locking process and they differ greatly!

  3. Hi Grace:

    Sorry for the huge delay. My sincere apologies. As you may have already figured out the length of time for a person’s hair to lock varies. I am approaching year 2 and a majority of my hair has not fully locked. I’ve always envisioned my locs to look a certain way and they look nothing like I imagined. Lol. All of our hair is different. I know ppl who said their hair fully locked within their first year others say it took them 3 years. So it all varies. Now I haven’t heard of hair fully locking within a couple of weeks but anything possible as our hair textures and locking methods varies. But like I always say be patient and bask in every stage of your locking process and they differ greatly!

Leave a Reply

