Locspiration

Locspiration: Angela Brown

I remember someone telling me how they prayed that I would see tons of sisters with loc’s and that I adored them.  I guess, this was because the person wanted me to be Inspired.  This person’s dream has come true.  Everytime I turn around I see a sister with a head full of loc’s and it makes me feel warm and tingly inside.   Seeing strong, proud, black women wear loc’s affirms my decision to be on this journey.  With that being said, I present to you my first Locspirator, Angela Brown. I hope that you too are Inspired.

I recently, saw this CNN interview about Opera singer, Angela Brown.  A beautiful sister with a huge voice.  I was elated to see that Ms. Brown wore here hair in locs considering she is in an industry dominated by Caucasian performers.

In her interview she spoke about how opera is for everybody and not exclusively for the rich.  She currently has a one woman show, where she travels to churches, schools, and nurshing homes to educate and introduce opera to people and places where it isn’t popular.  Her show is called Opera from a Sister’s Point of View.  Through this recital program Ms. Angela attempts to diversify audience members by demystifing the idea that opera is only about and for rich, white folk. 

I love her, she is hella cool, and breaks it down so that the common man can understand.  To see the interview click here.  To hear a selection her click Angela M. Brown Opatria Mia from Aida by Verdi .  for more information about future appearances go here

 

One thought on “Locspiration: Angela Brown

Leave a Reply

