Locspiration

Grown Ass Woman Manual

As you may or may not know my birthday was on June 11! YAY June Babies! I did a little bit of birthday shopping and I went to dinner and dancing. It was a cool night. Low key, the way I like it.

I’ve been super busy at work and I didn’t even know what I was going to do for my birthday until the day of my birthday.  As tired as I was I refused to stay home and sleep, so I came up with a plan and had a little fun. To celebrate a birthday is a blessing, and we never know if it will be our last.

My birthday is always a time of reflection. I think about where I am and where I want to be. This birthday I thought about how I am really getting older and I need to have my stuff ironed straight and a great of amount of changes in my life will be happening.

I am now at an age where I know I am getting older.  Before now, I never thought about my age.  I would think that I was “young” but I ain’t as young as I used to be.  My dancing has even changed.  I don’t go to clubs and drop it and pick it back up.  I really just two-step and do a little wind here and there.  I leave the popping and dropping to the kids.  lol!

I have now taken a real interest in my health.  I exercise daily and I try to eat healthy.  I understand that I need to take control of my health because one day age will kick in and it may be too late to make changes.My goal is to always feel sexy.  I want to be a sexy mom.  I want people to be like, “You’re ___ years old?!?!?!?”  And I know I will only feel sexy if I treat my body right.  And I’m doing just that.

I am truly planning out my career path.  I am thinking about what I want to do in the next 5 years.  Will I be at the same job or will I be somewhere else? Where? Now is the time that I need to plan my next step, not in 5 years.

I am thinking about purchasing a home.  That alone makes you feel like a grown ass woman. Lol! Having a mortgage ain’t no joke.  So budgeting and saving is very important and I want to go into home ownership with those traits.

I wish there was a manual on how to be a grown ass woman! Lol! Because there isn’t one we need to take charge of our lives as we get older and create those paths to becoming a well-rounded successful woman.  We are all bound to make mistakes but learn from them and try not to make them again.

So cheers to the birthday girl.  Yes, the number has increased but so has the joy!

One thought on “Grown Ass Woman Manual

  1. lol! I really enjoyed this post. For a few years now I’ve always wondered what exactly I had to do to be considered a woman. I mean when I think of a woman I think of my mom and other female figures in my life. But how do I get there? That was the big question. This post brought me back to that thought and put some things into perspective. Someone definitely needs to write the “How to be a Grown Ass Woman” book.

Leave a Reply

