Fashion & Style

Temporarily Living in Black and White

I love nail polish.  I am always buying new colors to add to my collection.  I am always polishing my fingers and toes. I must admit, polished nails makes me feel feminine and beautiful.  And it also accessorizes my outfit.  I figure that having a new color replaces me having to buy a new dress or a new purse.  Color gives my outfit the additional umph needed!

Too much of anything is never good.

I took of my polish this weekend and I decided that I would be polish free.

Once upon a Chicago summer

I was making a lot of bank

I would get a mani-pedi every week faithfully

I then developed a fungus in my toe

And I then decided that I would do my own mani-pedi

I’ve been back to a nail salon but I can count those time on my fingers

So since then it’s been me and my nails on this journey

Whenever I take off my polish, I find that my finger nails are chipping and brittle. I always wear a base coat and top coat, so it aint that.

I remember in the past my nails turned temporarily yellow – and I knew it was the polish. Although they come back to there original color, having yellow nails are nasty.

I know what I’ll do . . .

NO MORE COLOR . . . for a month

I decided to do a bit of research about nail polish and here is what I found out about polish . . .

Most nail polishes contain formaldehyde, a carcinogenic chemical best known for  preserving cadavers. On a toenail, the formaldehyde dries and damages the nail.  Polish remover has acetone, which is popular for removing adhesives and paint.  Also damaging for the nail. Fungus can infect toenails that are damaged by  polish. When your polish comes off you likely noticed that your nails are dry,  white, and flaky. In fact, people often come into the office concerned that it’s  fungus. No, it’s just damage from the polish.
Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/1823303

Dr. Schneider makes excellent points. During the winter women shouldnt wear polish. You can always get a mani/pedi if that rocks your boat during the winter time but ask them to hold off on the polish. Although I wear sandals during the winter, as I live in Miami I can still take a break from polish. I am committing myself to that!

Another reason to take a break from nail polish . . .

A) Your nails can get a yellowish stain from the polish’s  pigment, so it’s good to let the nails grow out to get their healthy natural  color back.

B) The longer you leave on your lacquer, the more chance  you’ll see discoloration (aka those icky white spots) on your nails after you  remove the polish.

Read More  

LESSON LEARNED: Clean and healthy nails are way more important then colorful nails that accessorize your look 😉

Leave a Reply

