Uncategorized

This Baby Can Read!!!!

So I’ve started to read again.

I haven’t read in book in soooooooo long. I’m ashamed to tell you how long, considering I’ve been a book nerd since my youth (I read “The Autobiography of Malcolm X” when I was in the 3rd grade – yep!)

During my trip to Costa Rica my sister was preparing for finals.

She was hella overwhelmed, so we (my other sisters) helped her study,which meant reading some books 😦

I read a book about the Revolution of Latin American countries to help her with one question that would be on her final.  That really reignited my love for books but also history.

I also had to get familiar with a book about Brazil’s former President Cardoso, to help her with another question.

I was deeply intrigued by this political figure.  I’ve traveled to Brazil and I love the country.  In his memoir President Cardoso speaks about race in a dynamic way – a way that I found extremely surprising considering he is not black.

I haven’t finished the book but now that I’m talking about it I will . . .

But I started to read another book called “The Fall of Rome” by Martha Southgate.  Some years ago I went to the Miami Book Fair and purchased a ton of books that I have not read (I started to read a Grisham book but never finished it, then started it again, now I will have to start again . . )

Anyways, I’ve been reading “The Fall of Rome”, little be little, I read 2-3 chapters a day after work. It’s a pretty interesting book from 3 characters’ perspective.  I can’t wait to pick it up tomorrow.

I’m just excited about this renewed desire.

My plan is to read at least 1 book a month.  That’s attainable!  If I keep up with that goal I will have read 12 books in a year.  I just need to get in the habit of reading, magazines, newsletters, books, whatever, I just need to never let my desire subside again.

I’ve been really missing out!

What was the last book you read?

One thought on “This Baby Can Read!!!!

  1. The Fall of Rome sounds familiar. I’ll have to check it out. The last book I read was the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy. It has a good amount of romance, a little bit of mystery, a lot a bit of S&M and erotica. If you like those genres then I recommend it. The book I’m reading now is called The Known World by Edward P. Jones. It’s a novel about slavery in the south- mainly Virginia. I’m a sucker for these type of books. I don’t know something about the way of life back then is captivating. It’s so bad that I used to watch Roots (the whole thing) at least once a year when I was a child. No lie. But I digress. There is this website: goodreads.com. It’s like Facebook for books/readers. You can look up and find virtually every book ever written, join book clubs/discussions, get recommendations, etc. Quite a few authors are on it as well. Check it out if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

