Uncategorized

First Impressions

“It takes just a quick glance, maybe three seconds, for someone to evaluate you when you meet for the first time.”

20120919-221437.jpg

First impressions matter. I was set for trial this Monday. That morning I was torn between two outfits. One was a suit the other were slacks, shirt and a blazer. The casual girl in me wanted to opt for the latter but the professional woman made me wear my suit. I told myself, “first impressions matter!” and I was convinced to wear the suit. When I pick a jury they are dissecting everything about me. To be quite honest people are attracted to beautiful things/people. I don’t know why I was bugging but I came to my senses.

Here are a few tips about preparing for a professional meeting.

If it don’t fit you must acquit. I believe in well fitted suits. A woman should look like a woman in a suit – NOT a man. Im not saying purchase the tightest and shortest suit available. But I’m not saying to purchase the boxiest one either.

Power Suits. I also think that every woman should own a power suit. A suit that makes you look and feel like you own it.

Individuality. I’m pretty new school in this theory but I do believe in individuality. So I add a pop of color in my accessories. My shoes, brooch, necklace, earrings or watch will make a statement. Sometimes I throw in my colored suede shoes with my suits or I may wear my neon and rose gold statement necklace to jazz up my outfit. It’s okay to make your professional clothes trendy too.

Gimme Face. And lastly the face is always done up. I don’t wear makeup often but I always do during trials. I love the natural look. I wear a subtle blush and natural eyeshadow tones. Lipstick adds a very regal touch as well. But I prefer a tinted gloss.

My outward appearance is bait for the jurors to take interest in me. I want them to like me and my client.

So when I walk in the courtroom I want them looking at me, I want them waiting anxiously for my turn so they can see/know that the outside matches the inside to the tee.

“These first impression can be nearly impossible to reverse or undo, making those first encounters extremely important, for they set the tone for all the relationships that follows.”

Quotes taken from here

 

Leave a Reply

