Daily Prompt

Daily Prompt: That Stings

Franz Kafka said, “we ought to read only books that bite and sting us.” What’s the last thing you read that bit and stung you?

I was watching the movie, “Cookie’s Fortune” with my sisters. Charles Dutton stars in that movie. My sister told me that Dutton had spent time in prison in his youth. I had never known that so I did a little bit of research to get more insight about his past. So I googled him and found that he was charged and convicted of manslaughter when he was 17. He was sentenced to 2 years in prison. Several months later he was charged with possession of a deadly weapon. For that crime he was charged and convicted to 3 years in prison. While serving his time he spent 5 days in solitary confinement. Inmates could bring only one book by mistake he picked up an anthology of black playwrights which unsighted his passion for acting. After serving his term he got his GED and later got a Masters from Yale.

I work in the area of Criminal Justice so this story really provided inspiration to me. And there is a renewed hope in mankind. Your past does not have to be your future but this only happens when you learn from your past.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: That Stings

Leave a Reply

