Uncategorized

Collard Greens and Cornbread

#singing Even ot the nerve to say you’re better than my momma’s Collard Greens and Cornbread . . . (Fantasia “Collard Greens and Cornbread”)

I’m Haitian, collard greens isn’t a a staple dish in our culture.  But I shol do love me some collard greens.  I usually add some hot sauce and the rest is history.  I went grocery shopping yesterday with this dish in mind.  I’m subscribed to CookingwithCarolyn and boy did she give me a great recipe.  Ok I must admit I added some turkey bacon instead of a smoked turkey wing but I did not eat the meat.  I have more greens so I hope to find another recipe that is totally vegetarian.  But after I watched her video I was like I got to make it like that sans the turkey wings.  My mom made breakfast this morning and she had left over turkey bacon so I just added it to my greens. 

Preparing greens take a little bit of time.  Washing and rewashing and washing and rewashing.  My hands started to hurt.  But it was so worth the hurting hands.  I made some cornbread to go with it and the pair is ridculously scrumptous!  I topped my greens with chopped tomatoes and onions.  YUMMY! 

If I’m going to have great meal days like this ahead I may stay on this path forever. 

2 thoughts on “Collard Greens and Cornbread

  1. Gurlll please u can buy the greens already washed in the produce section Glory Greens fresh in the bag! Then tomatoes &onions cut 2 in a container add garlic pepper add some cabbage shredded carrots u hot a meal wit day cornbread! Check out my videos I have veggie bids on youtube 🙂

Leave a Reply

