Daily Prompt

HELPLESS

Helplessness: that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that –- and what did you do about it?

When I graduated from law school the economy had taken a turn for the worse.  No one was hiring not even the Public Defenders Office — and they always hire!

It’s a horrible feeling when you feel like you’ve done everything in your life to bring you “this moment” and to reach “that moment” only to find that it’s the “worst moment” EVER! I went from undergrad to law school.  I did pretty awesome throughout school and I just knew that I would be banking and would be able to provide for my family and live life.  And I graduated and uhm yea . . . nothing amazing happened.

And I was disappointed.

And embarrassed.

And depressed.

And it wasn’t until I gave this speech that I remembered who I was.  You see the world has a way of judging you.  The world says that you must have A, B and C to be successful.  That you must make a certain amount of money, that you must drive a certain car, and live in a certain neighborhood and wear certain brands to be SOMEONE.

For some these standards dictate who we are/become.  They tell us to go for the big bucks and ignore our passion or to put family on the back burner to get that promotion.  But functioning under those standards NEVER leave you happy.  You’re empty, purposeless.

It is only when we understand that the captain of our ship is God that we understand who we really are.  When I tried to fix my mess I always seemed to mess it up even more.  I had to stop thinking ME and start thinking HE!

God should be at the reins.  When I was going through my mess – when I was helpless, desperate I remembered God’s promise.  I remember being at McDonald’s waiting in the drive through line.  And I saw a bird eating some food and drinking some water from a puddle in the ground.  That bird was living the life! It had no worries what so ever and I remembered the verse that  says:

Matthew 6:25-34

New International Version (NIV)

Do Not Worry

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?

That chapter also talks about how God clothes the grass of the field how much more will he do for us!  I mean he takes care of things that are beneath us.  How much more will he take care of his own children! So do not worry . . . a hero is always there to saves the day!

Even in the midst of the recession He always provided for all my needs and MY WANTS!  And I know that our God is big enough, strong enough and wise enough to provide for whatever you desire.

Take Care!

Brenda

2 thoughts on “HELPLESS

  1. Your story is so comforting. If only we all could remember God’s endless provision and love for us in our time of despair. It touched my heart to read this because it shows that there are still people out there whose focus is not to aspire to society’s standard of success; instead seek to create their own. Thank you for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

