Locspiration

Traveling 101

I love visiting new places but I hate preparing for travel. I have gotten better. Before I would bring my entire closet with me now I pack very light. I guess one would say I travel a lot (although recently I haven’t gone anywhere new). Since I’m packing for a weekend runaway I have decided to give you a few things I do when traveling.

1. Fly cheap. Look for deals. Sign up with airlines to get emails when they have promotions. I’m not the girl who needs to fly first class on domestic flights that are less than 3 hours. But if you fly frequently with an airline your hoop dreams of flying first class can become a reality. Also when I fly cheap to sleep comfortable. I don’t care how I get there but I care where I lay my head.

2. Pack light. I so remember the days when you could check in and carry on FOR FREE. Those days are long gone. Baby, some airlines ::cough:: Spirit charge you for a carry on. And most airlines charge you for check in. In order not to pay for baggage packing light is a must. Some people say they pack hours before their flight. I can’t and I don’t. I think you are more probe to throw in your entire closet if you are pressed for time. Packing requires time and deliberation. I literally place all outfits on my bed and I put my shoes and jewelry next to time. And most times I try all my outfits out to see how they look together. When I plan what I’m wearing I never overpack.

3. Create Agendas. Know what you are doing each day. Although you may not follow it strictly, as things do pop up, you’ll at least have an idea of how much money you need and how much clothes you need to pack.

4. Recycle, Recycle, Recycle! I usually have high heels. They take up a lot of space in my carry on bag. Knowing this I can only fit about 2 pairs in my suitcase. So I always make my outfits revolve around my shoes. Also, I never bring more than 1 pair of jeans. I’ll just switch up the shirt. You can turn a casual outfit into a dressy one by adding accessories and changing your shoes.

5. Public Transportation. If you really want to explore a city use their public transportation system. Now I must say that this rule apply to major cities with excellent public transportation. So if you travel New York, DC, Chicago, San Francisco you should be catching their public transportation. For one its way cheaper than renting a car and paying for gas and parking. But most importantly you see the city by meeting the people.

Do you have any tips or tricks for traveling?

3 thoughts on “Traveling 101

  1. Girl when you mentioned Spirit, my eyes nearly bulged and I just knew steam was coming out of my ears. God forgive me but I HATE that company! They are the worst!! I mean who the hell charges for CARRY ON?? Like seriously? And then they have the audacity to talk about the check in bag weight limit is 40 pounds??? Where do they do THAT at??? And don’t even get me started on how I practically had to dislocate my knee just so I could fit in the dang seat! I am so vex with that airline! That’s the first and the last time I will ever fly with them.

    …So yeah back to the traveling tips. Sorry, I just had to get that rant out. LOL! But yes, I remember the days when checked luggage was free and a 70 pound limit! We were living life back then! lol! I was just telling my mom the other day that I have yet to go to the airport and not have my bags be overweight. Yes, I bow my head in shame and admit that I am THAT traveler. The one that you see crouching down beside the kiosk trying to shuffle items between bags hoping and praying and pleading with the baggage attendant to let the extra 5 pounds go. I know I’m not the only one! LOL! Great post!

    1. Please believe that that was (and sometimes is) me too. I’m sneaking extra bags on the flight and putting the luggage half way on the scale to fake the actual weight. Lol!!! And the crazy thing is I hate Spirit but I always fly with them. It’s a love/hate relationship. I have always sworn no more but when I can get a flight to Atlanta for $90 round trip- I’m head over heels in love again. Lol! Thanks or reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

