Loc Talk

Loc Talk: Low Maintenance My A@S!!

I hate doing my hair.  I really like the idea that locs are low maintenance but this low maintenance is still pretty high for me.  I think organic/free form locs are low maintenance but manicured locs ARE NOT!

When I went to Chicago I washed my hair but I didn’t do a good job.  While retwisting I felt some areas of my hair still had product.  And you know what I did at 3 am — I kept on retwisting.  i was leaving for Chicago the next day and I was dead tired.  I did feel kinda bad but I told myself I would make it up to my hair.

So I recently washed it again and I clarified it with baking soda and apple cider vinegar (ACV) and then I used a clarifying shampoo.  I then used a moisturizing shampoo and then I did a deep conditioner and sat under my steamer.  I didn’t immediately retwist.  I actually let it air dry and retwisted 2 days later.

I like this process better because usually my hair never is totally dry after a wet retwist – so my hair gets frizzy really fast.   I didn’t retwist my totally hair dry, as I sprayed on a leave in conditioner to moisten it a bit.  Doing a semi wet retwist allowed my hair dry faster (within hours) and I was able to sleep without any clips in my hair.

I stopped using product to retwist my hair for a couple of months.  I decided to do this to maximize the amount of time I could go without washing my hair (the lazy in me).  For this retwist I decided to use some product to cut back on the frizz.  I used Organic Root Stimulator (ORS)Loc and Twist gel mixed with Aloe Vera Gel.  It’s pretty light and has a good hold.  My hair does have an itch so I know that I will be washing it in about 3 weeks.

I’m trying to be more diligent about my hair care.  I have very thick hair so when I wash it I need to retwist it or else I will have free form locks. The 2 days I didn’t retwist my hair this go round my hair started to marry.  And retwisting my hair is a chore — I don’t want to pay anyone to do it because retwist prices are ridiculous.  But in 2014 I will do better with washing and maintaining my hair by myself.

4 thoughts on “Loc Talk: Low Maintenance My A@S!!

  1. Love your posts, I’m loced for 5 years in jan and I’ve thought the same thing for years now. Low maintenance is a myth and in 2 days if not retwisted I look free-formed. All and all I love my locs , but would love to take them down for a day or two but then go back.. only if that were an option. Good luck on your journey.

Leave a Reply

