Operation Passion

When a Child Dies

I don’t really want to write about this but I feel like I need to jot down these words to never forget.

On Tuesday night my little cousin died in Haiti.  He was 4.  And when I heard his age, my heart sank.  There is just something about babies and death that knocks the breath out of you.

We don’t know how he died but we suspect it was cancer.  He died undiagnosed, without proper treatment.  Just imagine how much his little body suffered.  My mom says he was very ill. He didn’t play with the other kids – he just watched.  He sat with the adults, legs crossed, mouth shut.

I never met this little boy but I still feel a sense of responsibility. I feel like I could have done something.  And I’m not sure if that’s even true but it’s just how I feel.  

When a child dies it rocks you to the core because how innocent and forgiving they are.  You can’t help but to shed a few tears because they are truly a great example of pure love.

But I am comforted because I know that he suffers no more. That he is able to run and hop and skip and jump and play with the other kids.  I am comforted because I know that he is in the arms of the Savior.

I wish he was able to get the proper treatment while on Earth.  Ya’ll there is a big issue with access in this world.  We must do a better job at how we treat the poor. WE  have a responsibility to our local and global community. You should feel a certain way when a child, man or woman dies because they don’t have access to medicine. It’s shameful how we can allow humans to die because they are poor. #IDidntWantToGoThereButIHadTo

3 thoughts on “When a Child Dies

  1. We as individuals have to do better do more instead of assuming that someone else will pick up our slack! When people are in lack and in poverty it is a result, well sometimes of their own actions yes, but often it’s because the person who was supposed to lift them out of their situation is out of place. That’s what I believe.

Leave a Reply

