Operation Passion · What I'm Loving

Must Read: The Alchemist

A while back a friend suggested that I read, The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho.  I had the intentions on doing so but I kinda tucked it away in my memory bank under my Must Read list.  Last night I was looking at a friend’s IG timeline and she had a picture of The Alchemist.  My friend said how much she loved the book and everyone who commented also praised the book.  I felt like the Universe was telling me something so I told myself that I would purchase and read the book ASAP.  I didn’t have a good night’s rest as I was tossing and turning after receiving news that a young man I knew died.  This morning, I took the day off of work — and I needed to take my mind off of this unexpected death.  

The Alchemist  was on my mind so I googled it and attempted to purchase it.  I then had this urge to read it immediately (I ain’t got no Kindle or iPad — YET!) so I checked to see if I could get a PDF copy of the book.  And you know I did – so I started to read it and I really wanted to stop so I could do other stuff but I couldn’t!

The book is an allegorical novel.  It’s a bit mystical (which I am not usually into) but because this book is filled with so many gems I didn’t even mind it.  It’s an easy read and it is written beautifully.

ImageThe Alchemist is about chasing your dreams but this books teaches you about: the power of intuition, making choices (comfort vs. desire), setbacks, love, God and a host of other things.  It follows a shepherd boy named Santiago from Andalusia, Spain on his journey to Egypt after having this recurring dream of finding treasure there.   He begins this journey only after coming in contact with a King who introduces to Santiago to this idea of Personal Legend.  Your Personal Legend “is what you have always wanted to accomplish.”  On this journey he meets many people who help him understand and stay the course of his Personal Legend.

This book really resonates with me because I am trying to find my Personal Legend.  Have you ever felt like you were created for something more? That there has to be more than the monotonous 9-5 day? That’s how I feel.  I believe that I can love what I do.  That I can wake up and look forward to the day.  I believe that my life can and will look like this.  I love hearing people talk to me about their dreams.  I especially love talking to students who speak fearlessly about what they want to do.  And it’s that same conviction and belief I long for. This book has reaffirmed some truths that I have already known and it has taught me things that I did not know.

When you want something, all the Universe conspires in helping you to achieve it. #TheAlchemist

If you have not read this book you definitely should.  It makes a great gift (birthday/graduation).  If you have read it please let me know what you think below.    

6 thoughts on “Must Read: The Alchemist

  1. So a few years ago I was seeing a therapist (don’t judge lol) and she recommended the Alchemist. It is a really good and inspiring book many of the concepts can be applied to everyday life.

Leave a Reply

