Uncategorized

Oil Pulling

I’ve been oil pulling religiously for about 6 months.  I heard about oil pulling years ago and I actually tried it last year but I never made it a habit as I couldn’t get past the gagging.  But I pushed through and now oil pulling is a habit.  It is routine for me to wake up every morning and swish coconut oil around in my mouth for 20 minutes.

When I first started oil pulling it was so hard to keep it in my mouth for 20 minutes without wanting to spit it out.  But the days got better and by day 7, I was a pro.  I learned that it was harder to just sit still and oil pull than to do something while oil puling.  So I usually take a shower while I am oil pulling.  The time seems to run by faster and by the time I step out of the shower it’s time to spit it out.

Every morning (on an empty stomach) take a tablespoon of coconut oil (you can do sunflower or sesame oil too) and put it in your mouth. Swish the oil in your mouth without swallowing it.  Move it all around your mouth and pull it between your teeth, like mouthwash. Once you start oil pulling your jaw will get tired and if that happens just rest your mouth a while and use your tongue to help move the oil around in your mouth. You will soon be able to oil pull without your jaw getting tired. But do this for 20 minutes. I check the time when I start, go take a shower, and check the time when I am done taking a shower.  Usually I would have 5-10 minutes left after hopping out of the shower and I will start putting on lotion or looking for my clothes while swishing the oil in my mouth.   If you are using coconut oil, once you hit your 20 minute mark and you spit the oil out it should be thin and white, like a milky consistency.  After you have spit the oil out, rinse your mouth with warm water and salt (the salt is not necessary but it helps fight bacteria and inflammation).  Lastly, brush your teeth.

I oil pull every day.  You do not have too, you can do it several times a week, whatever works for you.  But I think you definitely need to be consistent with it to see results. There are a tons of benefits associated with oil pulling.  The benefits I have noticed are:

1. Whiter teeth

2. Less plaque buildup

3. Healthier gums

4. Clears sinuses

TIPS:

  1. Do something (shower, read newspaper, etc.) while oil pulling to make time fly.
  2. Do NOT swallow the oil. If you feel like you are going to swallow just spit it out and try again. The oil inside your mouth is filled with toxins so make sure to clean your mouth out afterwards.
  3. Spit the oil out in the trash bin not your sink or your shower.  It’s oil so you don’t want to clog your drainage system.

Have you oil pulled? Have you noticed any benefits?

One thought on “Oil Pulling

Leave a Reply

