Fashion & Style · Uncategorized

Purging Tips

In my last post I wrote about purging my closet.  Today, I want to give you a few tips on how to purge.  I have learned that more clothes for me equals more choices and I don’t need that.  This usually translates to me wearing 30% of my closet.  My goal is to build a wardrobe that is at 100% use. Before I give tips, the first step is to be honest with yourself.  Don’t hoard under false pretenses. Let your experience dictate your answers. 

  1. Is it faded, ripped or stained? If yes, TOSS!
  2. When was the last time you wore it?  If it’s been a year, DONATE/SELL!
  3. Does it still have tags? DONATE/SELL! There is no space for guilt in your closet.  Man up and keep it moving!
  4. Do You Love it? Don’t keep things that are “just alright”. SELL valuable items that you don’t love anymore.
  5. Does your closet reflect you today? It should not reflect what you hope to be.  Does it fit your lifestyle?  If you’re a kindergarten teacher with a closet full of suits you need to purge. Does it fit your body? Does it complement your shape? If you haven’t gotten it tailored or if you haven’t lost enough weight to get into it, it’s time for it to go.  If it looks better on a hanger than on you – it’s time for it to go.

Something for you to try:  Turn all your hangers in one direction, and for the next six months, flip the hanger (and leave it flipped) when you wear something. Donate or sell the untouched clothes.

You can sell your clothes to Plato’s Closet. They will reject anything that is older than a couple of seasons and if it’s damaged.  What I tend to do is bounce around to different locations, because one location may not want it but another will.

Do you have any additional purging tips?

 

 

Leave a Reply

