Freedom Friday

Freedom Fridays: Get it Together

India.Arie is my favorite artist.  Her songs are so thoughtful.  You can go through anything in your life and she has a song that speaks to you, as if India wrote it about your specific situation.  Her ability to connect is truly a gift.  She’s genuine and truly believes in the healing ability of music.  She’s like a big sister in my head, she has taught me a lot about love and life.

I was listening to her album “Voyage to India” and this song called “Get It Together” popped up.  And I haven’t heard this song in a minute but when I heard the beat my hands went up, palms rise to the Universe ::in my Rihanna voice:: because I knew I was about to get my praise on.  This song is so powerful.

It’s about allowing yourself to heal because healing is a very personal experience.   Healing involves only you.  You are the only person who can make the decision to move on and grow or stay stagnant and wither.  India tells us to not accept the lies that people speak into our lives and to be mindful of the words we speak in our own lives.  When we speak words of hope and love and life we soar!  I can’t even point out my favorite lines cause the entire song speaks to me.  Check out the lyrics below.

One shot to your heart without breaking your skin/No one has the power to hurt you like your kin/Kept it inside, didn’t tell no one else/Didn’t even wanna admit it to yourself/And now your chest burns and your back aches/From 15 years of holding the pain/And now you only have yourself to blame/If you continue to live this way

[Chorus:]
Get it together/You wanna heal your body/You have to heal your heart/Whatsoever you sow you will reap/Get it together

You can fly fly

Dark future ahead of me/That’s what they say/I’d be starving if I ate all the lies they fed/Cause I’ve been redeemed from your anguish and pain/A miracle child I’m floating on a cloud/Cause the words that come from your mouth/You’re the first to hear/Speak words of beauty and you will be there/No matter what anybody says/What matters the most is what you think of yourself

[Chorus]

The choice is yours/No matter what it is/To choose life is to choose to forgive/You don’t have to try/To hurt him and break his pride/To shake that weight off/And you will be ready to fly

One shot to your heart without breaking your skin/No one has the power to hurt you like your friends/Thought it will never change but as time moved on/That ugly duckling grew up to be a swan/And now your chest burns and your back aches/Because now the years are showing up on your face/But you’ll never be happy/And you’ll never be whole/Until you see the beauty in growing old

[Chorus]

Leave a Reply

