For the Book Lover/January Read

This year my goal is to read 40 books. Why 40? I have no idea. I actually wanted to read 50 but I thought I was pushing it, considering that it was only in the later end of 2015 I got back into leisure reading.  So I thought 50 was doing too much, 40 just seemed to be more attainable.  Reading 3 to 4 books in a month is doable, I told myself, so 40 it is!

January came and gone.  Can you believe that the first month of the year is saying it’s goodbyes?! Wow, time waits for no one.

Let me first tell you all that I am a woman who needs a physical book in my hand.  I don’t do ebooks or audibles.  I could never get into them.

This year my goal is to exclusively use my public library for my reading goals.  I have always loved the library.  My parents trusted us to go to three places alone: school, church and the library.  So when I looked around my house and noticed my books piling up (yes, books are a part of my minimalist journey), I headed straight to the library.  I renewed my library card (and they have a variety of cool cards to choose from) and I picked up some books. I sometimes go to the library just to read. I really love that place.  It holds so many great memories for me.  I am a huge advocate for keeping libraries open in our communities, so that means that we gotta use them.

I am also on Goodreads to keep track of all the books I want to read and have read.  And you can see what I’m currently reading over there too.

In January I read 3 books.  I’m trying to squeeze in 1 more book, Harper Lee’s Go Set a Watchman but I will let you know if I make that happen.  I have 4 days to do it, I think I can, I think I can, I KNOW I can.

The 21 Day Financial Fast – I’ve blogged about this book, here, herehere and here! It’s an awesome book. I will be purchasing this book because I plan on doing the fast a couple of times a year.

Americanah – This book was long. I didn’t know if I would be able to finish it before my due date to return it and I couldn’t extend because there is was waitlist. I wasn’t really making time to read it. But when I noticed that I had to return it in a couple of days, I made the time. It’s a really good book.  It does take some time to get into it but once you push through, the storyline captivates you.  And if you are an immigrant or have ever spent time in an immigrant community you are going to laugh your butt off.  The African hair braiding salon part, HILARIOUS!!!! I relived my many days at the African braiding salons in Atlanta and even in Connecticut.  It’s a real life love story, that most can relate to.  Everyone that I know who read it says it is really good and I totally agree.

The Girl on the Train  – What the heck was I waiting for?!?!  I don’t think I have ever read a psychological thriller (fully read).  This book has exposed me to a genre that I really really love.  I tried to get into Gone Girl last year and I just couldn’t do it.  People say The Girl on the Train is Gone Girl 2.0.  Well I feel like I need to give Gone Girl another try cause bae-bae The Girl on the Train is everything.  It is brilliantly written.  If it ever became a movie iunno if I would watch it because I don’t want to be disappointed.  This book is everything, it was a great way to end my January reads.

Here’s to Keeping the Library Alive!

Cheers!

What have you read this month?

 

Leave a comment